Libby & Okeby

3 Nov

Libby and Okeby are now available from the website!  Libby is created from the Sassy cashmere fabric – a first time for me!  Although I love her, this fabric was not the easiest to work with at such a small size as it has a knit back.  Still with livvy1.jpgcareful stuffing and sculpting, Libby has turned out really nicely and I do love the effect that the swirls and curls of the pile give her. It’s so different to the smoothness of the mini upholstery velvets and imho looks more like the pile of a bigger bear.  I’m looking forward to using some other shades of this fabric in the fture.

 At the other extreme we have chubby Okeby, who’s created from a lovely piece of caramel mohair.  It’s aokeby1.jpg bit denser than the fabrics I work with normally and the shade is just scrumptious!  I was looking at a couple of photos from a couple of years ago, when I used to dress a lot of my bears.  It made me feel nostalgic so I decided to sew a little felt shirt for Okeby.  Again, I’m really pleased with the end result.  I think the two shades work well together.

Hope you enjoy the new additions!

4 Responses to “Libby & Okeby”

  1. Aleta November 6, 2007 at 5:11 pm #

    Supremely delightful….BOTH!!!

    Warmest bear hugs, Aleta

  2. Jenny December 15, 2007 at 9:38 pm #

    Where did you get the name Okeby from?

  3. melissa December 16, 2007 at 5:42 am #

    Hi Jenny

    Totally out of my head. There is no method to my madness when it comes to names. I had decided to call the bear Oakley but realised that I had reserved that name for a future design. I wanted to name him something autumnal as his colours suggested autumn to me thus I was sounding out words in my head with the “Oak” prefix and came up with Okeby. I think I need to find a better method of naming!

  4. Jenny December 17, 2007 at 5:48 pm #

    Interesting as Okeby is my family name. I think we would like to adopt him

Leave a Reply

