Thinking ahead

29 Oct

Yikes, I can’t believe that it’s the end of October already.  The year seems to have flown by.  My trip to Aussie seems an all too distant memory and the time has come to plan and prepare for next year’s shows. 

The biggest and most exciting possibility on the horizon is a trip to the Teddy Bear Artist Event in the UK in June.  I’m 99% sure that I’ll be allowed the leave from work – it’s now a matter of selling enough bears between now and January to pay for my airfaire (nearly $3000 yikes!!).  I have been saying for years that I want to travel to the UK and I decided that if I didn’t make plans, I’d never actually make it.

My friend Tracey came over yesterday.  She’s just returned from the UK and a trip to EuroTeddy in Essen.  Seeing her photos and purchases made me more determined to save and make it next year.  My sister lives in London, so at least I won’t be on my own in the UK. 

The show, organised by Samantha Potter of Mary Myrtle Miniatures looks fabulous.  The list of exhibitors has me both inspired and incredibly daunted!  I’ll have to pull out all the stops to create some bears worthy of the show.  And boy oh boy, I’ll have to save even more money to do some bear shopping with!  The theme of the show is Four Seasons – incredibly appropriate for a Wellingtonian bear artist, where we really do have four seasons in one day sometimes.

My only regret is that I can’t tie it in with a trip to the bear show in the States.  I have always wanted to go to one of the US shows, but I can’t seem to find any that will fit in with the dates.    I still might visit on the way home – it seems crazy to go all that way and pay that big airfare without doing something extra but we’ll see what time and finances permit.

I’ve been playing with some new designs over the next couple of days.  I find designing frustrating as I find it really hard to get what I visualise in my head into a pattern.  So I tend to put off the experimenting.  However, I have a cute idea that will fit into one of the current challenges on tt and also fit into my upcoming range of holiday bears.  So, I shall perservere with the drawing and pattern drafting.

I also have a couple of bears almost finished, so that’s the goal for the next couple of days, along with the 50 Christmas cards I have to do for work.  Hmmm….who needs sleep!!

2 Responses to “Thinking ahead”

  1. Paula November 1, 2007 at 9:31 am #

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you Melissa! That trip would be wonderful! Unfortunately I can’t be at the show, but I’m looking forward to hearing all about it. Samantha has done a fabulous job with the organising!

  2. Amelia November 1, 2007 at 3:36 pm #

    Melissa, how EXCITING!! I hope you can make your goal, you sound committed and I am certain you will make oodles of money to get there! I can’t WAIT to see your bears that you will creating in the next months!

Leave a Reply

