Challenges and Inspiration

21 Oct

At long last things are looking a bit livlier in my bear workbox. Why the sudden surge of inspiration? Well partly the long weekend and beautiful spring weather that has at last arrived in my part of the world. It’s been so nice to sit in the sun and sew. The other reason for my sudden fit of motivation has been a couple of discussions going on over at Teddy Talk.

Some of the threads have been talking about bear magazines and what we can do to make them better and increase circulation. Reading some of the very thoughtful and constructive responses sparked my own thinking and has really challenged and inspired me to improve my bear making efforts and start submitting to some more mags. I got such a thrill from the Teddy Bear Scene article about my work – and got a bit of a shock when I realised that it’s almost two years since that article came out!! Where has the time gone and what have I been doing???

pile.jpgThe last couple of nights have been the first for months that I haven’t been able to sleep because I’m dreaming up new bears. Today I’ve put in several solid hours of sewing….and while I’d dearly love to be creating those new bears I’ve been imagining, I’m being good and finishing some of the poor souls who’ve been languishing in my workbox for months now. I feel particularly sorry for the poor little guy at the top – he’s been a head for about three months -about time that he got a body and some limbs!

I also made a quick light box – from an old cardboard box and some tissue paper. It doesn’t look so pretty  as a fancy schmancy soft box, but it was essentially free and it really helps with the colouring of my photos. It doesn’t help with the macro feature of course but at least it’s a start!

panda1.jpg

2 Responses to “Challenges and Inspiration”

  1. grace October 21, 2007 at 9:11 am #

    ooh like the new theme. and the new bears wil be adorable when finished i’m sure 🙂

  2. Laura Lynn October 22, 2007 at 1:18 pm #

    Melissa I’m so glad you are back into the bears! Can’t wait to see the new creations 🙂

    Hugz!

Leave a Reply

