The eyes have it

14 Oct

On Friday I took a break from my soggy house and stayed with my friend Laraine, creator of the amazing RaineBears. Laraine makes the most perfectly finished bears I’ve seen in my life and I left feeling inspired to improve my own bearmaking skills.

Laraine deservedly won a TOBY industry choice award this year for Niko, but the bear that captured my heart this weekend was Jackson. jackson2.jpgHe has such a soulful sad expression that you just have to give him a hug…albeit a tiny hug – Jackson is around 5 inches tall! I have one of Laraine’s bears in my collection, and he might soon be joined by another if only I could decide which of her beauties that I need next.

Saturday was also the meeting day for my teddy bear club. I even sewed a bear!! Now I just have to finish him – that’s the goal for the coming week. Yesterday I stamped and coloured 36 santas for my Christmas cards…what fun!

Leave a Reply

