Shiny new toys

2 Oct

Today my order of stamps from the US arrived. How exciting! I bought four American Art Stamp “stick chicks”. Over on the Caardvarks blog, the micro challenge is to do a card with scallops on the front so of course I just had to use one of my new stamps.

roses.jpg

Hmmm…the resulting card is almost how I pictured it. I have learned in the process that it is very hard to take a photo of a card with stickles (glitter glue) on without the card looking totally naff and tacky. IRL the card looks a lot better (imho of course!!).

roses2.jpg

I wanted to tie the scallops into the roses that the girl is holding- so I drew a little rose in each bump of the scallop with my tria markers. They are quite subtle – just a deeper hue of the cardstock really and enhanced with a little stickles. I didn’t want the roses to overpower the centre image and I think they work, though I so cannot draw for peanuts. I wish I could find a medium sized corner punch – I think it would look better with bigger scallops.

The girl is coloured with my tria/promarkers and again, enhanced with a little stickles. I am desparately waiting for my nice white cardstock to arrive – I only had a couple of scraps left and I have 3 more stamps I want to play with!

Card Recipe:  Cardstock: Bazzill; Stamp: American Art Stamps; Other: ribbon, tria/letraset markers, ribbon, corner punch, stickles

2 Responses to “Shiny new toys”

  1. SmilynStef October 2, 2007 at 12:11 pm #

    Love those little ladies … just darling.

  2. lauren October 2, 2007 at 9:50 pm #

    oh what a sweet stamp…and an adorable card!

Leave a Reply

