A day of firsts

30 Sep

Every now and then I like to take a break from bear making and dabble in other crafts. It’s nice to do something that’s just for fun and it often gives me a fresh perspective and new ideas for my bears too.  Over the past few months I’ve found myself reading more and more stamping/cardmaking blogs and am amazed by the creativity of these women. Stamping has changed so much in the decade since I last tried this craft. The new stamps are so cool and so over the last few months, I’ve bought a few sets of stamps but, I’ve been too scared to use them. I’ve made more than 50 cards but not one of them has been stamped!!

Cardmaking without the stamps I can do, but put a stamp in my hands and I go into brain freeze. Suddenly, I feel a pressure to be perfect and neat and artistic…all things that I am not. So, my stamp supplies have sat in a box, and I’ve been a creative wimp. When I saw this week’s chipboard challenge on the {Caardvarks} blog, I decided that I’d bite the bullet and try out my supplies. So here are my three efforts – all of them very basic and nothing compared to the beautiful cards featured on their site BUT it’s a start and I am happy.

The cards feature several firsts – first time using blank chipboard, first time using polymer stamps, first time using my uber expensive letraset promarkers and first time using my embossing gun (albeit for drying ink and not embossing!) and, of course, first time sharing my stamped creations with the world.

Best Wishes

For the above card, I  ‘inked’ 3 bare chipboard tiles using my new Letraset promarkers (similar to Copics) in lime and apple green. I then stamped partial the partial image of a Cherry Arte leaf stamp on each tile. I love this set – it reminds me of the lino prints that we used to make at school. The sentiment is a rubon.  I’m pretty happy with this card – it would be good for a man’s birthday.

 

getwell.jpg

This card is my favourite, but the photo makes it look really boring! The flower stamp is from the same Cherry Arte set as the leaves I used in the above card. I stamped it on a plain white card base. The red piece is actually a separate piece of chipboard, which I coloured with a berry Promarker and then stamped the floral image on. I overlayed it (not quite perfectly!) onto the card. The sentiment is tiny peel craft stickers. I need to find some nice sentiment stamps.

 The last card again uses the Cherry Arte set (for the butterfly) along with a Heidi Swapp stamp (thank you). I used a scrap of Basic Grey Lily Kate paper in the background. Again, I used my promarkers to colour the chipboard.

thanks.jpg

So…that’s my first foray into stamping for almost a decade. I have a lot to learn but it was fun….and only a little scary!

2 Responses to “A day of firsts”

  1. Lesley September 30, 2007 at 2:44 am #

    Very nice cards! Thanks for playing, and these are totally going to make our gallery that much sweeter. Your designs rock!

  2. Laura Lynn September 30, 2007 at 2:43 pm #

    You did wonderfully!!! The Thank You card is my favorite 🙂

    Hugz,
    Laura Lynn

Leave a Reply

