Time for tea

4 May

Well actually, not a lot of time for tea! This time in 5 weeks, I’ll be at the pre-show drinks party. Am I prepared? Um, no but I’m past the panicky stage, thank goodness! I still only have about 12 bears for the show, which when you’re talking about minis makes for a very empty looking table. But I’m so pleased with the bears I have and I have 5 more in the works.

After three days of migraines over last weekend, I’m working on finishing up a few minis. I have been working on a new design, and am thrilled with the results. Hopefully I will have a picture to share tomorrow. I am due to put another bear on bid4bears and am trying to decide which one I’ll add. I’m meeting with the girls for a sewing day tomorrow, so maybe I’ll let them make the decision for me!!

In every psychometric test I take, the results always show that I am a big pictures person and not a finisher. It’s quite unusual for my profession and it rolls over into my bearmaking. To my regret, I shall never be one of those people that has just one bear on the go; I always have a few bears in various stages of completion. I also have designs for bears in my sketchbook that I’ve planned for years and the little bear below is no exception.

I bought this cup in 2001, intending all along to make a panda for it. Six years later, and I can finally introduce you to her. The fabric is from Sassy’s and for some reason, the pile on the black stands straight up rather than lying smooth like the white does. I love this effect as it makes her seem a bit chubbier than my regular bears. It’s also a blue black which works really well with the deep indigo of the cup. Her nose is actually navy and I’ll add her paw claws in the morning. She wears a sash from gorgeous ombre dyed ribbon and though the photos don’t show clearly, she does have panda style shading to her eyes.

She’s kind of named – I need to ask my sister in law for one of the Chinese words for “willow” when I’m home. If it sounds cute, I’ll use it! I also need to make a satin cushion so she can sit in the cup. I’m not sure whether to take her to Australia or put her on bid4bears. Either way, her cup is going to need careful packing. It’s very petite – about half the size of a regular teacup and I shalll miss it sitting on my shelf!willow.jpg

3 Responses to “Time for tea”

  1. Danneil May 4, 2007 at 12:50 pm #

    She is just magnificent!!!! I wish sooo much that I could bring her home to me but I have a 3 year old and 14 month old identical twins (all girls), which means I can’t have divine little Willow at this stage.
    I will just have to admire her from a distance.

  2. Catherine May 7, 2007 at 12:10 pm #

    She is a real beauty and is so perfect in her little tea cup 🙂

  3. Veronica May 30, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    so cute in the lovely colours of the cup.

    Could you place some flowers or some other larger items..perhaps a miniature set of drawers?… how about some upside down pots?.. mirrors?… interesting boxes etc…

    I do dolls as well as mini bears…and a few larger dolls also fill in a void…or perhaps one or two of your own collector bears..not for sale of course! ..

Leave a Reply

