Gettin’ buggy

28 Apr

eeeeew I just have to tell you what happened to me this morning.  I was heading out for a sewing day with a couple of friends.  It’s been a rainy foggy day here and I was meeting one of my friends to grab a ride over with her.

We met up at the bead shop.* We splashed our way through the puddles to her car and were settling ourselves in.  A little movement near the window caught my eye and as my eyes came into focus I realised it was a ginormous weta – with three of it’s legs trapped in the top of the door.   It’s other legs and antennae were frantically wriggling around.  Eeeeeeeeewwwwww!

Of course then I had to open the door and get that critter outside hoping that he didn’t jump on me.   Wetas aren’t dangerous but they can be a little agressive and bite.   I don’t mind wetas too much – I quite often see them outside my house early in the morning but this guy was a biggy – he would have filled my palm and then some.  Alexis was borrowing her MIL’s car, she’s a gardener and it had probably got into the car with some gardening gear.   Alexis was just glad that he hadn’t decided to drop down and pay her a visit while she was driving down the motorway

Check out these photos on flickr if you want to see what I’m talking about

*The trip to the bead shop was fantastic.  I haven’t been for ages and they’ve got some gorgeous new charms.  I didn’t find the tiny flatback swarovski crystals that I wanted but I did find a pretty peach one that I’ve used on my latest ballerina.  I also found the cutest little keys for just 30c each and a cute apple charm that might get used on a bear I’m working on at the moment.   I was also thrilled to find the cutest little star charms – I sew a charm on the backs of my bigger bears but had run out and hadn’t been able to find anything suitable.  These ones are even better than my originals and should fit on even my smallest bears.  Yippee!

5 Responses to “Gettin’ buggy”

  1. wildthymeoriginals April 30, 2007 at 4:10 pm #

    OOO…. I LOVE bead shops! I always find a millions little things that I completely don’t NEED, but can’t leave/live without! I had an absolute obsession with seed beads a couple of years ago… just the colors alone were enough to ensnare me… I don’t even bead! They’ve weasled their way into all kinds of bear accessories of mine though. Obsession leads to a better “stash,” don’t ya think?

  2. nimbleknot May 1, 2007 at 4:18 am #

    EWWWW!!! That looks like a cross between a potato bug and cricket.

  3. Aleta May 2, 2007 at 2:17 pm #

    ACK!! That bug is sooooo big! If I saw that thing I’d be screaming and running….far, far away!

  4. Shel May 4, 2007 at 3:00 am #

    Oh, just… ick. Ick, ick, ick. That’s the only reason I can think of to avoid your lovely country but it may be enough of a reason, all by itself. 🙂

  5. honeythorpe May 4, 2007 at 5:31 am #

    Don’t worry Shel, most Kiwis would never come across them, and I’ve never in my life seen one indoors, even up on the family farm. On the plus side…we don’t have any racoons ; ) and not a single snake either!

Leave a Reply

