Oranges and Lemons….

2 Apr

Hopefully the fate of wee Clement will not be quite the same as the poem. I remember playing Oranges and Lemons way back in my first year at primary school, especially the nasty little boys who’d “chop” really hard as you scooted through the arches.

Oranges and lemons”, say the bells of St. Clement’s
You owe me five farthings”, say the bells of St. Martin’s
When will you pay me?” ask the bells of Old Bailey
When I grow rich”, say the bells of Shoreditch
When will that be?” ask the bells of Stepney
I do not know”, says the great bell of Bow
Here comes a candle to light you to bed
And here comes a chopper to chop off your head!

The fabric I have used on Clement is one of my favourites – two shades of Sassy frosted long pile – but it is sooooo hard to photograph well. The backing of the fabric is really intensely coloured but the pile (fluffy stuff) is white, so you end up with this soft sorbet looking fabric. Stephanie of Sassy Bears and Fabrics has this fabric specially created and then she custom dyes it. I wish I could order up one of every colour. Visiting her site is downright dangerous for a second generation frabicoholic like me ; )

Clement and his ducky pal will be available from bid4bears for 3 days from the 2nd April. He has a no reserve starting price of $49 and a buy it now price of $65.

Edited to add: Sarah from Jellybelly Bears edited Clement’s photo for me…now you can see how he really looks!

clement11.jpg

 

 

2 Responses to “Oranges and Lemons….”

  1. Amelia April 2, 2007 at 7:02 pm #

    Absolutely darling, Melissa! I do love your pandas!! Best of luck on the auction—I’m in high bidder place for the moment!! =)

    *waves*

    Amelia

    Thanks Amelia, it means a lot when a fellow mini artist likes my creations!

  2. Lisa Thoms April 6, 2007 at 6:41 pm #

    Really adorable! I know you’ll do well with your auction pieces.

    Thanks Lisa, I’m just taking a break from taking photos for the next one. I am so not a photographer!

Leave a Reply

