I heart books

30 Mar

The other day I mentioned that when I’m feeling less than motivated, I like to browse my collection of children’s books.  Ihave a few favourite authors/illustrators: Quentin Blake; Kevin Henkes, Roald Dahl, Lane Smith.

One of my absolute favourites is English author/illustrator Lauren Child.  I love love love her collage illustration style and her writing is laugh out loud funny.  I have almost all her books, including a few signed copies that my sister gave me.  I like Charlie and Lola, you may be familiar with them from TV

Lauren has a fab website, though some of it is still under construction.   Check out more about them on this Squidoo lens.  I’m obviously not the only fan.

I can’t pick one favourite book from my Lauren Child collection….Clarice Bean was the first character I ‘met’ but I think my heart is stolen by That Pesky Rat.   If you want great read aloud bedtime books that won’t make you want to bang your head against the bedpost after the umpteenth reading, then head for a Lauren Child creation.

peskyrat.jpg

 

 

One Response to “I heart books”

  1. madsilence April 23, 2007 at 2:28 am #

    Hey Honeythorpe. If you like children’s books try these links:
    International Children’s Digital Library http://www.icdlbooks.org/
    The Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art
    http://www.picturebookart.org/About_Us/Mission_History
    Enjoy. Love the bears.
    MadSilence
    http://madsilence.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

